I was sold this as a fargesia, is it?

Moderator: needmore

mpagri
Location info: 0

I was sold this as a fargesia, is it?

Post by mpagri »

I was told that this fargesia bamboo took a beating over the winter but that it will bounce back. If it is a fargesia can anyone guess the species? If not, is it even a clumping type? Will it actually bounce back, it looks dead to me.

I can take pictures of more specific characteristics if you tell me what would help.

Thanks in advance.

needmore
Bamboo Society Membership: ABS - America

Re: I was sold this as a fargesia, is it?

Post by needmore »

Welcome,

I have a low degree of confidence in this but I think it is not a Fargesia and not a clumping form, rather I suspect Pseudosasa japonica. The branching is suspect to me.
Brad Salmon, zone 12B Kea'au, HI
http://www.needmorebamboo.com
oobmab

Post by oobmab »

needmore wrote:Welcome,

I have a low degree of confidence in this but I think it is not a Fargesia and not a clumping form, rather I suspect Pseudosasa japonica. The branching is suspect to me.
I don't know much, but I know what Japonica looks like. I have a high degree of confidence that you are right.
oobmab

Post by oobmab »

mpagri wrote:I was told that this fargesia bamboo took a beating over the winter but that it will bounce back. If it is a fargesia can anyone guess the species? If not, is it even a clumping type? Will it actually bounce back, it looks dead to me.

I can take pictures of more specific characteristics if you tell me what would help.

Thanks in advance.
It has green leaves, so it is still alive. Expect it to send up new, (very) small shoots, and possibly new branches from its lowermost (ground level and below) nodes, or new branches on culms still having green leaves. When any existing culms turn completely brown, cut them down.
mpagri

Post by mpagri »