Hardiness question (and website question)

Other things that involve bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Sinclair
Location info: 0

Hardiness question (and website question)

Post by Sinclair »

Hola!

I am a relative newbie with two questions: what is the most reliable way to determine a species hardiness (apart from purchasing and experimenting, obviously) and am I correct in that the search bar for the forums does not work or is it just user error?

More specifically to the hardiness question, to my knowledge Ph. Nuda and Arunindaria Gigantea & sometimes "Macon" seem to be the most cold hardy species listed here but it is so interesting that each source who may grow and sell has their own estimates with temperature swings of 10 degrees or more at times. Then there are the differences between browning, top kill and root kill.

I am in the suburbs outside of St. Louis and have been graciously educated and supported by Alan_L (and thus inderectly Needmore!) yet I continue to strive to find the perfect bamboo that will survive both our humid 110 degree summers and our cold-blasted -10 or -15 degree winters while creating the ever elusive EVERgreen screen. I have surviving Ph. Nuda, Bissetii, Atrovaginata, Aureosulcata 'Spectabilis', Heteroclada 'Purpurata' and whatever "Yellow Stripe"/"Golden Crookstem" is going by these days. The bigger specimens are doing better for obvious reasons but they aren't getting enough light as I'd like.
I have taken out the dying evergreen bushes in the front yard and will be placing the most hardy specimen I can on either side of the walkway to my front door in full sun (with some wind protection from an attached garage but still largely susceptible to big gusts) and I really want to nail this opportunity to let this beautiful subfamily shine for all and be healthy. For now I have two equal sized Ph. Nuda specimens that I am planning on moving there either soon this year or next year. We are technically zone 6a/b in St. Louis, fyi.