What Fungi Grows in Your Groves?

Other things that involve bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Jeff: Igor's Apprentice
Location info: 0

What Fungi Grows in Your Groves?

Post by Jeff: Igor's Apprentice »

Any fungi fans out there?

I'm just getting into the hobby and spent a whole day today scavaging for mushrooms, listening to various speakers, sampling mushroom dishes.... yummmmmmm....

Anyway... A speaker was talking about a certain mushroom growing in a country where it was not native. And then stated that it was growing with some bamboo which was also not native and hypothesized that this is how the fungus made its way to whatever country this was (not the US). Wish I could remember the fungus, the bamboo, or EVEN the country but I guess my brain was taking a few moments to itself.

But it started me wondering.... since fungi so often are very specific in their plant associations, which fungi grow around YOUR boo... And I also wonder if you see any fungi that you think is uncommon to your area that possibly came with the boo- probably not from another country due to strict import regulations, but maybe just from elsewhere in the country.

If you don't have names that's fine....
how about pictures?
BooKing

RE: What Fungi Grows in Your Groves?

Post by BooKing »

Are you the 'Fungus amongus"....? :lol: :wink:
Iowaboo
Location info: 32

Post by Iowaboo »

So........let me get this straight. We like fungi growing on our bamboo, but not on our feet. Thanks, I appreciate the daily lessons.
CJW
in a solid Z9 location.

Post by CJW »

I had some rather nice sized Psilocybe cyanofibrillosa growing in the rich manure I dumped around my Psudosasa Japonica last year.
Maybe thats why I have gone crazy over my madake. I am seeing things.. my bamboo has a sprit and comes in rainbow colours, and has comanded me to feed it .. mulch, .. .MulCh.. wow.. trippy. :roll: :twisted:

No, seriously I did have some around my bamboo, but they are native here, so sorry.:lol: