What should I expect?

Other things that involve bamboo

Moderator: needmore

yard e
Location info: 0

What should I expect?

Post by yard e »

Hello Everyone!

Well here in Michigan we've had one of the worst winters in almost a 100 years.
I've been growing bamboo for about three years, and haven't had much experience in winter damage.
I have a three year old grove of P. Aureosulcata and P. Spectabilis started from #5 pots. On inspecting the damage
I don't have a green leaf left:(, Most of the culms have turned brown, except for the bottom couple nodes, and some
green on the side away from the wind. The Spectabilis has lost most of its color (green stripes).

I'm just wondering what I should expect, thanks.
Hope there's some good news!
stevelau1911
Location info: 42

Re: What should I expect?

Post by stevelau1911 »

The bamboos in the aureosulcata family tend to hold a bigger portion of their energy in the rhizomes so even if everything above ground top kills, it should still get back to a decent size. I've found some auresulcatas almost completely top killed in my area too however there is one grove of it which still managed to not get a lot of leaf burn. That one happened to be growing right next to a swamp.

It has been the coldest winter with the coldest temperatures I've ever seen, but still not a zone 5 winter here so bamboos will likely rebound pretty well.
yard e

Post by yard e »

Yes, but will the mostly brown culms re-leaf. And will I have less shoots.
ShmuBamboo

Post by ShmuBamboo »

yard e wrote:Yes, but will the mostly brown culms re-leaf. And will I have less shoots.