Black-Stemmed Taro

Other plants we have or landscape elements like ponds.

Moderator: needmore

Kyuzo
Location info: 0

Black-Stemmed Taro

Post by Kyuzo »

I've been growing Black-Stemmed Taro for a few years now. I got a start of it by chance from a local arboretum not knowing anything about it. After the first year I found through research that it grows where its wet (even in water) so I decided to plant it on the banks of a stream on my property. It went crazy! The plant is now about 5 feet tall. It is sending runners out everywhere, even across the stream to root on the other side. The picture is of my niece standing in it to give a sense of scale. She's five.

I've got more starts of this than I know what to do with. If anyone's interested, send me a PM.

Here's a link to some pics:

http://picasaweb.google.com/MattGColson ... directlink
Aquila non capit muscas!
ghmerrill
Location info: 26

Re: Black-Stemmed Taro

Post by ghmerrill »

Hey Matt, thats AWESOME!

does it survive the winter in the ground there, or do you have to dig it out? I would love to trade you out of a start, if you are interested in a boo for trade? PM me and let me know!
Gene
Alan_L
Location info: 81

Post by Alan_L »

Yes, I agree, beautiful! Plus in the photo that shows it next to the "normal" Colocasia, you can see that the black-stemmed one doesn't have the leaf browning that the other does (or at least it's not as easy to see).
foxd
Location info: 21
Bamboo Society Membership: ABS - America

Post by foxd »

I was checking the plants last night and the Taro seems to have recovered from being shipped.
Southern Indiana.
My Bamboo List.

The legal issues that will arise when the undead walk the earth are legion, and addressing them all is well beyond what could reasonably be accomplished in this brief Essay. Indeed, a complete treatment of the tax issues alone would require several volumes.
Kyuzo

Post by Kyuzo »